# Parkwood Church, Ottawa Annual Congregational Meeting on February 24, 2024 at 7:00 p.m. in the Fellowship Hall

#### Call to order

The meeting was called to order by the minister, James T. Hurd, at 7p.m.

#### Opening devotional exercise

The minister led in prayer, and read Deuteronomy 33 verse 1 and following and reflected on theme of the death of Moses. Specifically, the minister emphasized that blessed are those who enlarge God's domain.

### **Election of Secretary**

The chair called for the election of a secretary for the meeting.

Holly MacDonald nominated Paul Mkandawire. The nomination was seconded by B. Featherstone. Paul Mkandawire accepted the nomination. The chair called for further nominations. None were forthcoming. It was moved by Kathryn Newton, duly seconded, and agreed, that nominations cease.

The chair declared Paul Mkandawire elected secretary by acclamation.

### Approval of Agenda

A motion to approve the agenda was sustained (Dale Tuck/Kathy Newton)

#### **Memorial Minute**

Thereafter the minister read the names of the following members and adherents of the congregation who had been summoned to the Lord's nearer presence during the year: Millie Ambrose, Helen Davidson, Dorothy Lawrence, Thelma Passmore, Linda Robinson, Ray Thompson, David Watson, Rebecca Yabadi, and led in a prayer of thanksgiving for them and intercession for their families and all who mourn their passing.

# **Attendance**

In addition to the minister, twenty-three members and adherents of the congregation were present, as follows: Stewart Elder, Brenda Featherstone, Dennis Featherstone, Marcia Harten, John Huber, Susanne Johnson, Ted Johnson, Holly MacDonald, Alta MacFie, Jim MacFie, Lorrie McEwen, Paul Mkandawire, Derek Newton, Kathy Newton, Dianne Nickerson, Heather Peckett, Pamela Pestaluky, Dianne Smith, Ed Steenhorst, Vicki Steenhorst, Dale Tuck, Diane Walford, and Gord Walford.

#### Regrets

Regrets were registered by John Fair, Martha Fair, Sunjay Henry, Victoria Henry, Jim MacDonald, Betty Paul, and Don Pestaluky.

#### Correction and approval of minutes annual congregational meeting of 2022

The following corrections were noted:

- Page 6 typo 6<sup>th</sup> paragraph 2<sup>nd</sup> line (1) complied should be compiled
- Page 8 typo 1<sup>st</sup> paragraph 6<sup>th</sup> line <u>Came</u> should be <u>Camp</u>
- Page 9 typo Under Benevolent Fund 3<sup>rd</sup> paragraph 1<sup>st</sup> line though out should be throughout
- Page 14 typo Last paragraph last line <u>lead some our our</u> should be <u>led</u> (past tense) some <u>of our</u>.
- Page 16 under Logos, 1st paragraph: fall of 2023 should read fall of 2022
- Page 21 2<sup>nd</sup> paragraph 4<sup>th</sup> line the **home** would be clearer if read the **nursing home**
- Page 21 same paragraph should also include people with a cell phone
- Page 21 7<sup>th</sup> paragraph 4<sup>th</sup> line wheelchair is stored should read wheelchair stored
- Page 37 Loan Repayment 1<sup>st</sup> paragraph 4<sup>th</sup> line date should read <u>2024</u>
- Page 40, item C: <u>Audit Team</u> should read <u>Audit Committee</u>
- Page 40, bottom: add A. DeBoer bequest

Following these corrections, a motion to approve the minutes of the 2022 annual congregational meeting (Paul Mkandawire/Brenda Featherstone) was carried.

### **Reports of Session Officers**

A motion to receive Session officers' reports was carried (Pamela Pestaluky/Dale Tuck).

Clerk of Session made one addition to his report relating to Remits B&C, that after two congregational meetings the conclusion is that steps for withdrawal are not reasonable or attainable. Therefore, we will continue to be in the PCC even though the Session does not agree with changes effected through the remits.

## **Reports of Ministry Teams**

A motion to receive Team reports was sustained (John Huber/Brenda Featherstone).

Christian Education – correction under Logos: change date 2<sup>nd</sup> line: fall of 2022

Mission: Derek Newton to assume Team leadership as of Jan. 1, 2024 following Stewart Elder's decision to stand down. The congregation thanked Stewart Elder for his leadership of the Team.

Facility Management: Terry McBurney to retire as head of Facility Management in Sept 2023. The congregation thanked Terry for his leadership.

Media Support

Finance: A motion to set the target for Loan Repayment at \$16,500 was carried (Dennis Featherstone/Gord Walford)

#### **Other Reports**

Leading with Care: A motion to receive the report was carried (Marcia Harten/John Huber).

Audit Committee: Kathy Newton, Brenda Featherstone, Stewart Elder, John & Martha Fair – all willing to serve for 2024. Kathy Newton provided a supplementary report.

A motion to receive Audit Committee report and adopt Financial Statements was carried (Marcia Harten/Ed Steenhorst).

#### **New Business**

A. Budget 2024

- Rec 1: A motion recommending the congregation to set the target for expenditures of \$226,847 for local purposes was carried. (Holly MacDonald/Pamela Pestaluky)
- Rec. 2: A motion recommending the congregation to set the target of local offerings at \$201,847 was carried. (Holly MacDonald/Gord Walford)
- Rec. 3: A motion from Session recommending to the congregation to set \$10,000 as the target for Presbyterians Sharing & Presbyterian World Service and Development for the year 2024 was carried. (Holly MacDonald/Gord Walford)

A motion to adopt the budget for 2024 as a whole was carried. (Holly MacDonald/Derek Newton)

- B. A motion to reappoint Betty Paul as Envelope Secretary & Ugo Kejeh as Treasurer was carried. (Dennis Featherstone/Derek Newton)
- C. The following individuals were named to the Audit Committee Stewart Elder, Kathy Newton, Brenda Featherstone, John Fair, and Martha Fair.
- E. De Boer bequest: A motion to designate 10% (\$1000) of the De Boer bequest for charity was sustained. The Ottawa Mission was named as the beneficiary. The balance of \$9000 to be allocated to Reserves for Capital Expenditure) (Dennis Featherstone/John Huber).
- F. Parkwood's 60<sup>th</sup> Anniversary: The year 2024 marks 60 years since the birth of Parkwood as a congregation. To mark this anniversary, the congregation gave the following suggestions: the creation of a history wall; appointment of a historian; soliciting stories about Parkwood from longest serving members of the congregation; special events ideas.

**Adjournment:** A motion to adjourn was sustained. (Dianne Nickerson/Brenda Featherstone). The meeting was closed with prayer by the minister.

Paul Mkandawire

Secretary